Skip to content

Applications for the Prestigious Rimowa Design Prize Open 1 December 2023

Calling design students, the 2024 RIMOWA Design Prize is open again for entries

Bookmark article to read later

By Kimberley Schoeman  | December 1, 2023 | Design

Now in its second edition, the RIMOWA Design Prize is celebrating German design through the empowerment of creative talents shaping the future. The brand was established on values of innovation, inclusivity, and global change, while the prize is defining a new voice for the German design industry. The RIMOWA Design Prize is more than an incubator for aspirational ideas. It is an initiative that converts potential into tangible projects that have a lasting impact on global issues.

Teaming up with some of Germany’s top design schools, RIMOWA is offering students the opportunity to transform creative intellect into concrete products. The 2024 RIMOWA Design Prize will take place from December 2023 to May 2024, when a ceremony honouring the finalists will be held during the world-renowned Berlin Design Week.

The theme of the this year’s prize is mobility, once again addressing its importance. Mobility is underpinned by values of freedom and support, while acknowledging RIMOWA’s tenets of resilience, excellence and quality which assure that all designs are created to provide a fulfilling purpose. Capable of being interpreted and reconfigured in a seemingly endless number of ways, it is important to consider what mobility means to everyone, and not just those who are able.

How To Apply for the 2024 RIMOWA Design Prize

To apply, students can submit a physical product, a system, or a service, which must show clear consideration for society, resources, and/or conservation. Applications must also relate to the theme of mobility without references RIMOWA’s products or product category (e.g. luggage, backpacks, etc.), visual identity, or any other proprietary brand information. All students, regardless of nationality, race, gender, sexual orientation, religion or belief, are encouraged to apply, provided that they are studying in one of the listed universities. Students can apply as individuals, or as a group of two, and must be in their second semester or onwards.

Students can apply from December 1 to 15, all information can be found here.

The jury of judges includes industry legends and thought-leaders who take the design industry to new frontiers, including Matthias Kulla, Head of Design Management Sports Cars at Porsche; Bonnet-Masimbert, CEO of Rimowa; Alexandre Arnault, Chairman of Rimowa (honorary member); Sebastian Herkner and Susanne Graner, Head of the Collection and Archive at the Vitra Design Museum, to name a few.

What awaits the winners of the Rimowa Design Prize

In addition to the mentoring program, the prize offers participants various networking opportunities and a professional workplace where their work is brought to life. The Rimowa Design Prize will also award the seven finalists with a number of cash prizes. The winner, selected by the jury, will receive prize money of 20,000 euros. The runner-up will receive 10,000 euros, while the third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh place winners will each be awarded 5,000 euros.